Season So Far | Historical | Interactive | Club Info | Supporters | Links | News | Home | Contact
Back to Big Games The 1988 Sherpa Van Trophy Final
Sunday 29th May 1988, Kick Off 3pm
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Mutch, Dennison


Team Team
1) Mark Kendall 1) Chris Pearce
2) Gary Bellamy 2) Shaun McGrory
3) Andy Thompson 3) Steve Davis
4) Floyd Streete 4) Steve Gardner
5) Ally Robertson (Captain) 5) Andy Farrell
6) Phil Robinson 6) Ian Britton
7) Robbie Dennison 7) Ray Deakin (Captain)
8) Keith Downing 8) Paul Comstive
9) Steve Bull 9) Peter Daniel
10) Andy Mutch 10) Steve Taylor
11) Mick Holmes 11) George Oghani



12) Nigel Vaughan 12) Phil Malley
14) Jackie Gallagher

Referee: Roger Milford

13) Ashley Hoskin

Manager: Graham Turner

Linesmen: D Palmer & G Butland

Manager: Brian Miller

Graham Turner Leading Out Wolves
Graham Turner Leading Out Wolves

How Wolves Reached Wembley

1st Round (Southern Area) Wolves 4-0 Brentford  
Quarter Final Wolves 4-0 Peterborough  
Semi-Fnal Wolves 1-0 Torquay  
Area Final 1st Leg Notts County 1-0 Wolves  
Area Final 2nd Leg Wolves 3-0 Notts County  

The Victorious Wolves Team
The Victorious Wolves Team

On the last Sunday of May 1988 a staggering 80,841 people enjoyed the Sherpa Van Trophy Final at Wembley. Bellamy clipped the bar early on and then in the 23rd minute Bull clipped the ball on for Mutch to head Wolves in front, sparking off joyful scenes amongst their amazing following of approximately 45,000 supporters. Dennison, who by now had also appeared for Ireland in a World Cup Qualifier, beautifully curled a free-kick into the top corner of the net to make it 2-0 after 51 minutes. However, Wolves had lost two players while others had received treatment for injuries so it was hardly surprising that Burnley dominated for a long period in which they did everything but score. Yet it was Wolves who finished back in control with Mutch hitting the post as they proved worthy victors on a wonderful afternoon for football.